top of page
20170608_103626_edited.jpg

Über die PHNST

Nationale Bezeichnung

Das National Trail System (NTS) wurde durch die Verabschiedung des National Trail System Act von 1968 (82 Stat. 919, Public Law 90-543) (das Gesetz) eingerichtet. Die Gesetzgebung genehmigte auch "Machbarkeitsstudien" für zusätzliche Komponenten des National Trails Systems, einschließlich des Potomac Heritage Trail; Eine solche Studie wurde 1974 vom Bureau of Outdoor Recreation des Innenministeriums abgeschlossen (das später in den National Park Service aufgenommen wurde).

PHNST Logo

Eine Änderung des Gesetzes von 1983 (77 Stat. 43, Public Law 90-543) bezeichnete den Potomac Heritage National Scenic Trail ("the Trail" oder PHNST) als Bestandteil des National Trails System und erkannte einen Korridor für den Trail an. und übertrug die Verwaltung der Bundesinteressen am Trail dem Innenminister, dessen Rolle an den National Park Service (NPS) delegiert wird, "solche Vereinbarungen mit Landbesitzern, Staaten, Kommunalverwaltungen, privaten Organisationen und Einzelpersonen für die Landnutzung für Wanderzwecke".

 

Die Spur heute

Der PHNST erstreckt sich derzeit über fast 900 Meilen und ist ein geflochtenes Wegenetz vom Laurel Hills Highlands Trail im Westen von Pennsylvania bis zur Mündung des Potomac River durch fünf physiografische Provinzen und die Hauptstadt der Nation.Partnerschaften stehen im Mittelpunkt des Trail-Konzepts und schaffen ein lokal verwaltetes, nicht motorisiertes Wegenetz für Erholung im Freien, Bildung, Transport, Gesundheit und Kulturtourismus. NVRCs2022 Studie zu Gesundheit, sozialer Gerechtigkeit und wirtschaftlichen Auswirkungenhebt viele dieser Vorteile für die umliegenden Gemeinden des Trails hervor. Unten finden Sie eine Zusammenfassung der Studie. 

Das PHNST verbindet Freizeitmöglichkeiten im Freien mit reichen ökologischen, historischen und kulturellen Umgebungen. Das Wegenetz ist für nicht motorisierte Fortbewegungsarten bestimmt, darunter zu Fuß, Fahrrad, Boot, Pferd und Langlaufskiern.

Klicken Sie auf das Bild links, um die vollständige Karte des National Park Service des PHNST herunterzuladen.

Screenshot of Executive Summary page for the 2022 Health, Social Equity, and Economic Impact Study.

Besuchen Sie die Website des National Park Service, um mehr über die Pfadkorridore zu erfahren... 

Potomac Heritage National Scenic Trail Map
bottom of page

top of page
20170608_103626_edited.jpg

About the PHNST

National Designation

The National Trail System (NTS) was established through enactment of the National Trail System Act of 1968 (82 Stat. 919, Public Law 90-543) (the Act). The legislation also authorized "feasibility studies" for additional components of the National Trails System, including the Potomac Heritage Trail; such a study was completed in 1974 by the Department of Interior’s Bureau of Outdoor Recreation (this later was incorporated into the National Park Service).

PHNST Logo

A 1983 amendment to the Act (77 Stat. 43, Public Law 90-543) designated the Potomac Heritage National Scenic Trail (’’the Trail" or PHNST) as a component of the National Trails System, recognized a corridor for the Trail, and assigned administration of the federal interest in the Trail to the Secretary of the Interior, which role is delegated to the National Park Service (NPS) to "enter into such agreements with landowners, States, local governments, private organizations, and individuals for the use of lands for trail purposes".

 

The Trail Today

The PHNST currently spans close to 900 miles and is a braided trail network from the Laurel Hills Highlands Trail in western Pennsylvania to the mouth of the Potomac River through five physiographic provinces and the Nation’s capital. Partnerships are at the heart of the Trail concept, creating a locally-managed, non-motorized trail network for outdoor recreation, education, transportation, health and heritage tourism. NVRC's 2022 Health, Social Equity, and Economic Impact Study highlights many of these benefits for the trail's surrounding communities. See below for an executive summary of the study. 

The PHNST blends outdoor recreational opportunities with rich ecological, historical and cultural environments. The trail network is intended for non-motorized modes of travel including, variously, foot, bicycle, boat, horse and cross-country skis.

Click on the image to the left to download the National Park Service's complete map of the PHNST.

Screenshot of Executive Summary page for the 2022 Health, Social Equity, and Economic Impact Study.

Visit the National Park Service website to learn about the trail corridor's... 

Potomac Heritage National Scenic Trail Map
bottom of page